Accessible Page Links

Page Tools

Main page Content

Teaching and learning

Teaching and Learning

Robertson State School is committed to providing all students with opportunities to engage in their learning within and beyond the Australian Curriculum. In delivering our curriculum, we will assess, monitor and capture student achievement to ensure students are developing deep levels of knowledge, processes and skills for life-long learning.


We encompass high expectations for each student, respond effectively to their current levels of achievement and cater for their range of interests, abilities, skills and motivation.


We prepare students to exit Robertson State School with a solid foundation in knowledge, understanding, skills and values on which further learning and adult life can be built.


Prep to Year 6 Curriculum 

At Robertson State School our curriculum is defined by whole school year level curriculum plans, curriculum unit plans, term overview and assessment schedules and individual class teacher lesson plans. These provide students with access to all Key Learning Areas, general capabilities and cross-curriculum priorities.


Year level teaching teams plan collaboratively, moderate and reflect on student work and use class, year level and systemic data to create learning activities based suited to needs of their students. 

The differentiation of our teaching and learning programs is a core component to ensuring our students’ academic success through the Gradual Release Model. All students in Prep to Year 6 are also provided with the opportunity to study the specialist subjects of Music, Chinese and Health and Physical Education.

​Australian Curriculum

The Australian Curriculum is designed to advance all students into successful learners, confident and creative individuals, and active and informed citizens. The curriculum is formulated as a progression of learning from Foundation - Year 10 that makes clear to teachers, parents, students and others what is to be taught, and the quality of learning expected of students as they progress through school. 

The Australian Curriculum is described as a three-dimensional curriculum that recognises the central importance of disciplinary knowledge, skills and understanding; general capabilities and cross-curriculum priorities. Disciplinary knowledge is found in the eight learning areas of the Australian Curriculum: English, Mathematics, Science, Health and Physical Education, Humanities and Social Sciences, The Arts, Technologies and Languages.

For further information on the Australian Curriculum, please visit

Source: Australian Curriculum. Accessed from: